Summer Reading List - 2020

Summer Reading List - 2020

Summer is here. All the books to read on a beach or under the sun this summer. A good book like a good tan can leave an indelible mark.

#1Roller Girl

Roller Girl

4.3Victoria Jamieson

A heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile. Astrid, 12, has always done it all with her best friend Nicole. So she assumes Nicole will too when Astrid signs up for the roller derby camp. But instead Nicole signs up with a new friend for the dance... Read more

#2The Friend Zone

The Friend Zone

4.0Abby Jimenez

Kristen Petersen is not doing the drama, fighting for her friends to death, and has no room in her life for guys who just don't get her. She also keeps a big secret: facing a medically necessary procedure that will prevent her from having children. For Kristen planning a wedding for her best friend is bittersweet—especially when she meets the... Read more

#3Sunny Side Up

Sunny Side Up

4.1Jennifer L. Holm , Matthew Holm , Lark Pien

Sunny Lewin was packed off to Florida to spend the summer living with her grandfather. At first she thought that Florida could be fun -- after all, it's the home of Disney World. But Gramps' place of residence is not an amusement park. It is full of people. . Old people. Really old guys. Sunny is fortunately not the only kid around. She meets B... Read more

#4Debt: The First 5,000 Years

Debt: The First 5,000 Years

4.2David Graeber

Before money came there was debt Every textbook on economics says the same thing: money was invented to replace onerous and complicated bartering systems—to relieve the elderly from having to bring their goods to market. The problem with the History version? There isn't a shred of evidence to back it up. Astonishing reversal of conventional... Read more

#5De Amerikaanse prinses

De Amerikaanse prinses

3.8Annejet van der Zijl , Michele Hutchison

Allene Tew met at Mauretania de haven van New York uit on 13 April 1927 voer. Ze liet een leven achter zich waarin ze alles hatte waar ze bereikt als plattelandsmeisje van hatte gedroomd - aanzien, fortuin, moederschap, hair grote liefde. En ze was kwijtgeraakt, het ook bijna allemaal weer. 'De rijkste en verdrietigste weduwe van de stad, zoals All... Read more

#6Anne Frank's Diary: The Graphic Adaptation

Anne Frank's Diary: The Graphic Adaptation

4.4Ari Folman , David Polonsky , Anna Frank

The only graphic novelization of Anne Frank's diary that the Anne Frank Foundation has authorized and that uses text from the diary--it will introduce this classic of Holocaust literature to a new generation of young people. </b> </p> This adaptation of the Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank into a graphic version for a young reader, maintains... Read more

#7The Moral Animal: Why We Are the Way We Are: The New Science of Evolutionary Psychology

The Moral Animal: Why We Are the Way We Are: The New Science of Evolutionary Psychology

4.1Robert Wright

Are men born to cheat, literally? Does monogamy really serve the interests of the women? These are among the issues that have made The Moral Animal one of the most provocative books on science in recent years. Wright unveils the genetic strategies behind everything from our sexual preferences to our office politics--and their implications for our m... Read more

#8The Bed of Procrustes: Philosophical and Practical Aphorisms

The Bed of Procrustes: Philosophical and Practical Aphorisms

3.8Taleb Nassim Nicholas

The Bed of Procrustesis a standalone book in the landmark Incerto series by Nassim Nicholas Taleb, an investigation into opacity, luck, uncertainty, probability, human error, risk, and decision making in a world that we don't understand. The series' other books are Fooled by Randomness, The Black Swan,and Antifragile. This collection of aphoris... Read more

#9Code Name Hélène

Code Name Hélène

4.4Ariel Lawhon

This book is based on the life of Nancy Wake, an Australian expatriate who worked in Paris just before WWII as a reporter for Hearst, and later as a British spy. Lawhon throws readers into the middle of the action as Nancy, under the alias Hélène, prepares to parachute from an RAF plane into France in 1944 to assist the Resistance, carrying in her ... Read more

#10Click

Click

4.0Kayla Miller

A debut graphic novel about friendship and finding out where in school you "click." Olive wants to be involved in the act. . . Any action! Olive "clicks" with everybody in fifth grade—until one day she doesn't. When a show of school variety leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she begins to panic, wondering why all her friends ha... Read more

#1126 Kisses

26 Kisses

3.5Anna Michels

In this hilarious and heartwarming debut about a girl's summer mission, Kasie West meets Morgan Matson kissing her way through the alphabet to get over her ex-boyfriend. The way Veda planned to start her summer is not to get dumped by her boyfriend. When Mark makes it clear between them that it's over, Veda is heartbroken and humiliated—but, mo... Read more

#12Sunny Rolls the Dice

Sunny Rolls the Dice

4.1Jennifer L. Holm , Matthew Holm

Too cool for school. . Or the grade's least groovy girl? Sunny's just made it to middle school...and it's very confusing about her life. All about fashion, boys, makeup, boys and being cool is her best friend Deb wants to talk about it. Sunny isn't against any of these things, but she doesn't understand why all of a sudden it all revolves aroun... Read more

#13Just Jaime

Just Jaime

4.2Terri Libenson

Terri Libenson, national bestselling author of Invisible Emmie and Positive Izzy, is another spot-on story of middle school drama and friendship. Friends.. Friends.. Friends. Classroom.. Jaime and Maya have wondered on the last day of the seventh grade who are their true friends. Jaime knows there's something off with her band of friend... Read more

#14Dawn and the Impossible Three

Dawn and the Impossible Three

4.4Gale Galligan , Ann M. Martin

The newest member of The Baby-sitters Club is Dawn Schafer. While after moving from sunny California she is still adjusting to life in Stoneybrook, she is eager to accept her first big job. But care for the three Barrett children would be too much for any baby-sitter. The house is always a mess, the children are out of control and madam. Barrett ne... Read more

#15Globalization and its Discontents

Globalization and its Discontents

3.9Joseph E. Stiglitz

This national bestseller quickly became a touchstone in the globalisation debate when it was first published. Renowned economist and Nobel Prize winner Joseph E. Stiglitz held a ringside seat for most of the major economic events of the last decade, including stints as Chair of the Economic Advisers Council and World Bank Chief Economist. Particula... Read more

#16Irrational Exuberance

Irrational Exuberance

4.0Robert J. Shiller

As Robert Shiller's new 2009 preface to his prestigious classic on behavioral economics and market volatility asserts, the irrational exuberance of stock and housing markets "has ended with an economic crisis of a magnitude not seen since the Great Depression of the 1930s." As we all, ordinary Americans and professional investors alike, crawl from ... Read more

#17Juniors

Juniors

3.5Kaui Hart Hemmings

Lea Lane lived her whole life in between. Mainlander Part Hawaiian. Perpetual new girl at school. Hanging in the shadow of the spotlight of her actress mum. And now: new guest cottage resident of prominent West family. Bracing herself for the embarrassment of being the latest charity case for her classmates, Lea is surprised when she begins... Read more

#18Sea Wife

Sea Wife

3.9Amity Gaige

For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Kate Atkinson, and Jennifer EganFrom Schroder's highly acclaimed author, a smart, sophisticated literary page-turner about a young family who flees suburbs for a year-long sailing trip that ends their entire lives, Juliet fails to juggle motherhood and her anemic dissertation when her husband, Michael, tells her he want... Read more

#19Out of Control: The New Biology of Machines, Social Systems, and the Economic World

Out of Control: The New Biology of Machines, Social Systems, and the Economic World

4.2Kevin Kelly
#20The Moment of Tenderness

The Moment of Tenderness

3.6Madeleine L'Engle

A deeply personal, genre-bending short story collection comes from the beloved author of A Wrinkle in Time that transcends generational divisions and reminds readers that hope, above all, can transform the suffering into the promise of joy. This powerful collection of short stories traces an emotional arc inspired by the early life and career of ... Read more

#21The Jane Austen Society

The Jane Austen Society

4.3Natalie Jenner

"Fans of The Chilbury Ladies\' Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will love The Jane Austen Society.. A charming and memorable debut that reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal."-Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestseller of The Lost Girls of Paris. Just after the Second W... Read more

#22The Tattooist of Auschwitz

The Tattooist of Auschwitz

4.3Heather Morris

In April 1942, a Slovak Jew, Lale Sokolov is forcibly transported to Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camps. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), whose task is to mark his fellow prisoners permanently. Lale, imprisoned for more than two and a half years, w... Read more

#23The Rest of the Story

The Rest of the Story

4.1Sarah Dessen Lock and Key

Emma Saylor has little memory of her mother, who died when she was ten. But she does remember her mom's stories of the great lake that went on forever, with cold, clear water and mossy trees at the edges. Now it's just Emma and her dad, and life is good, if a little predictable.. until Emma is unforeseenly sent with her mother's family to spend... Read more

#24This Tender Land

This Tender Land

4.4William Kent Krueger , Scott Brick

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where The Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel by the New York Times bestselling author of Ordinary Grace about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, 1932, Minnesota—The Lincoln School is a pitiless place where hundreds of Native American children are sent for education, forcibly... Read more

see more collections